press release

CBA Announces Award Recipients at CBA LIVE 2024

Weston Loyd

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Consumer Bankers Association (CBA) this week at CBA LIVE 2024 announced Huntington Bank as the 2024 Joe Belew Award recipient, recognizing the bank for its efforts to support workforce development and educational opportunities.

CBA also announced its Deposits and Payments Committee as the recipient of the Steve Zeisel Award for outstanding commitment to its mission. In addition, U.S. Bank’s Mark Salatino was honored as the winner of the Tem Woolridge Award for excellence demonstrated at CBA’s Executive Banking School.

Entering its 13th year, the Joe Belew award theme changes annually to reflect the current issues most impacting communities. The winner was selected by a panel of judges with decades of industry expertise.

“Small businesses play an integral role in our economy, from supporting communities to employing and serving local residents,” said CBA President and CEO Lindsey Johnson“That’s why I’m so pleased that Huntington Bank received this year’s Joe Belew Award for its Lift Local Business program that supports minority-, woman-, and veteran-owned small businesses.”

“Small businesses are the backbones of our communities and local economies. At Huntington, we recognize that some small businesses face more challenges when it comes to receiving funding,” said Brant Standridge, Huntington’s Consumer and Regional Banking President“We created Lift Local Business to help address these socioeconomic barriers, and we’re honored to be recognized as the 2024 Joe Belew Award winner.” 

“Huntington is proud of the more than 1,450 small businesses we’ve supported through Lift Local Business. We're committed to investing in our small business lending program, so we can help more small businesses start, grow, and prosper, and help the communities throughout our footprint become the best they can be,” said Maggie Ference, Huntington’s Small Business and Small Business Administration (SBA) Director. 

“Winning the Tem Wooldridge Award was such an honor, especially since Banking School has already had such a significant impact on my career development. Going through the program teaches you how to think strategically, as you continuously learn from both faculty and fellow classmates. You develop the skills and confidence to take on larger and more challenging assignments, which is how we’ll grow the next generation of banking leaders,” said Mark Salatino, Senior Vice President, Product and Branch Enablement of U.S. Bank.

About Huntington Bank’s Lift Local Business®

Huntington’s Lift Local Business® program supports minority-, woman-, and veteran-owned small businesses throughout the business life cycle — from start-up to expansion. Through Huntington’s SBA team, the program offers loans, business planning support, free financial entrepreneurial courses delivered through Operation HOPE, and other services to help small business owners achieve their goals.

About the Joe Belew Award

The Joe Belew Award was established in 2011 in memory of Joe Belew, former CBA president, to honor his commitment to community development. The annual award recognizes the efforts of CBA member-banks whose innovative solutions address pressing social and community issues. Previous award winners include U.S. Bank, Citizens Bank, Discover Bank, First Niagara Financial Group, and PNC Financial Services. For more than a decade, the focuses of the award have ranged from job creation to low- and moderate-income housing programs and small business support. The 2024 Joe Belew Award was presented to the CBA member-bank applicant with the most responsive and impactful program seeking to improve workforce development and educational opportunities.

About the Steve Zeisel Committee of Excellence Award: Recognizing CBA’s Deposits and Payments Committee

This award honors the life and legacy of Steve Zeisel, CBA’s former Executive Vice President and General Counsel for his service to CBA and the financial services community.

This is the third presentation of the Steve Zeisel Award honoring a CBA committee. Past winners include the Community Reinvestment Act Committee and Small Business Committee.

About the Tem Wooldridge Award Winner: Honoring Standouts of CBA’s Executive Banking School

Established in 2002 to honor long-time faculty member Tem Leslie Wooldridge, this award recognizes the top Executive Banking School student each year who demonstrates outstanding academic performance, high integrity and a strong work ethic. In addition to academic merit, Tem Wooldridge Award winners possess the necessary character and leadership skills to bring out the best in their teammates. Award winners are selected by EBS faculty, with input from senior class peers.


    Sign up to receive our press releases and blogs.